h1

He is a master of the minimalist movement.

June 1, 2010

I’m not the biggest fan of modern art.  Actually, that is a pretty broad statement.  Let me clarify a little.  I can enjoy the interesting perspectives in a Picasso, or the random beauty of a Pollock.  However, I cannot enjoy looking at something I completely don’t understand (I’m looking at you Duchamp).

My wife still has nightmares about an art appreciation class she took as an undergrad.  I’m not exactly sure what the nightmares entail, but I’m guessing they involve fur-covered teacups (curse you Oppenheim!) and lots of performance art.

By the way, the nightmares are justified.  She completed her bachelor’s of science in molecular biology with only two grades that were not A’s.  One of them was art appreciation.

Leave a Reply

