h1

Barbed wire rim glasses.

November 3, 2010

When I was 17, my parents let me get contacts instead of glasses for the first time.  The Ophthalmologist explained that I would need gas permeated lenses because of my astigmatism.  He assured me that the only difference was that they were made of a “firmer” material when compared to disposable lenses.  I would argue that “firmer” was not an entirely accurate description.

Myself, I would place gas permeable contacts more on the “painful shard of glass” end of the spectrum.

When I first fitted them into my eye, the doctor saw that I was obviously uncomfortable.  However, being a 15 year old trying to desperately avoid glasses, I swore I could cope.  And I could.

If I stared straight ahead and didn’t blink.

Those first contacts were horrible!  But, as bad as it was to wear them, it was almost worse taking them out.  For anyone who hasn’t worn hard contacts, they require a small piece of hardware for safe removal.  It looks like the world’s smallest toilet plunger.  Talk about adding insult to injury…

2 comments

  1. hehe painfully funny :-p



Leave a Reply

