h1

The trinoculars offered no real benefits.

January 17, 2011

My 4 year old daughter is a clever, smart, and overall incredibly intelligent child.  She knows her letters and sounds, can read and write simple words, and has even madeup some pretty funny jokes all by herself.

However…

Every time she gets ahold of my binoculars she insists on holding them backwards (so that things seem far away instead of closer) AND THEN she walks into things because they look so far away.  Every.  Single.  Time.

87 comments

  1. Trinoculars offer the benefit of hyper-exclusivity.

    You could also have one of the lenses see into the past or future. That would be pretty neat and I’m almost positive that technology already exists.


    • Ha ha ha! You are right, they would certainly be hyper-exclusive.


  2. Consider her behavior an experiment in depth perception. She will have skills that we lack with this practice.


    • Ha ha!


  3. Perhaps she is wise beyond her years and simply exercising differences in perception.

    And residents of the home shared by a human and a Cyclops would disagree with your assessment about the trinoculars.

    😉


    • Very funny!


  4. But often…if we step back and see the bigger picture, don’t we sometimes have more clarity than before?!? 🙂

    Thanks for the morning chuckle..consider me subscribed! And kudos on FP!


    • If she stepped back it might be okay. It’s stepping forward that causes her to run into things! 🙂

      And thanks for subscribing!


  5. Here’s the benefit of the tri-noculars. If you are looking through two of the lenses and something is too far over to the left or right to see… well then you just move over to the other two lenses… lol!


    • I actually did laugh out loud at this idea!


  6. I can totally relate to your post- My 2 year old daughter does the exact same thing. Congrats on FP


    • I’m glad it’s not just MY daughter…


  7. I subscribed! Great collection of drawings and thoughts. Thanks.


    • Thank you!


  8. […] My 4 year old daughter is a clever, smart, and overall incredibly intelligent child.  She knows her letters and sounds, can read and write simple words, and has even madeup some pretty funny jokes all by herself. However… Every time she gets ahold of my binoculars she insists on holding them backwards (so that things seem far away instead of closer) AND THEN she walks into things because they look so far away.  Every.  Single.  Time. … Read More […]


  9. AHAHAHAAH!
    I used to do that when I was a kid too. And when my sister turned 5 and finally understood what binoculars were, she thought their whole purpose was to make things look small and tiny. Through relentless efforts, we finally managed to convince her that they’re meant to make things look BIGGER and not SMALLER.
    Congratulations on being Freshly Pressed!
    Ashley, aka TheEverydayMuser
    http://www.theeverydaymuser.wordpress.com


    • Ha! Kids are hilarious…


  10. At least she is persistant…lol. Good for her- obviously she is a girl who does not conform to the norm and is looking at the world from a different point of view. Fab!


    • Persistent is something she definitely is!


  11. sounds a tad like me, only I walk into things without binoculars. Really don’t require any technological assistance or enhancements for that. ’nuff said.


    • ha ha


  12. Haahaha! I remember taking my Dad’s binoculars and turning them around to see. Probably walked into things too… Congrats on being Freshly Pressed!


    • thanks!


  13. Lol…that’s one inquisitive child you have. Just take it easy with the binoculars so it doesnt affect her eye accommodation.


    • We try to be careful.


  14. Perhaps, with a slight modification the trinocular could allow you to smell distant objects as well as see them?


    • I’d rather have the ones that keep me from smelling stuff that’s next to me, frankly. >_<


      • Both good points.


  15. Well written and interesting. Congrats on FP.


    • Thank you very much!


  16. 🙂 Maybe your daughter need a magnifying glass.


    • That is exactly what my wife said!


  17. I love your style. 🙂


    • I love your comment! Thanks!


  18. hahahaha! i used to be like that when i was her age. 🙂 congrats on being freshly pressed!! :]


    • Thanks! It’s been a lot of fun!


  19. You mean I had a third eye installed for nothing?

    F my life!


    • Ha!


  20. […] The trinoculars offered no real benefits. (via Inkjot) My 4 year old daughter is a clever, smart, and overall incredibly intelligent child.  She knows her letters and sounds, can read and write simple words, and has even madeup some pretty funny jokes all by herself. However… Every time she gets ahold of my binoculars she insists on holding them backwards (so that things seem far away instead of closer) AND THEN she walks into things because they look so far away.  Every.  Single.  Time. … Read More […]


  21. lol.. sounds like a poem about a little girl and her adventures of the day. ZW


  22. Kids often think out of the box and have a sense of frustration with narrow-minded adults! You’ll have to stimulate this one with all kinds of creative ideas and activities! The trinoculars thing is one of those simply brilliant things that nobody else has ever thought about. Something to do with seeing beyond the norm? Reminds me of one of B. Kliban’s cartoons from the 70’s.


    • Wow! We have some strange Christmas ornaments that our family has had since I was a kid. They have Santa Claus and cats on them. I have never known what exactly they were – but (after a quick google search of B. Kilban) they are apparently little pictures by B. Kilban. I have to go show my wife!


  23. Great anecdote about children, and shows the imaginative nature of children! Thanks!


    • Kids are great (most of the time).


  24. As a mom of a 3 years old you can imagine the knowing laughter I had reading this blog post =)


    • I’m glad you enjoyed it!


  25. great blog, quirky and funny. well done!


    • Thanks! I appreciate the kind words.


  26. A Naughty girl.O(∩_∩)O~


    • Not really naughty, just persistent…


  27. As a mom of a 3 years old you can imagine the knowing laughter I had reading this blog post =)
    http://aboutcloudcomputing.info


    • Glad you liked it!


  28. 萨克放假啊说过分手快乐的歌撒个人啊刚好单方面改变的不同?


    • um… thank you… maybe…


  29. Congratulations on making freshly pressed! I’m so chuffed for you!


    • Thank you! It has been actually been really fun!


  30. My 4 year old son does the same thing- constantly. I was beginning to worry, but so long as he isn’t the only one….


    • Looking at the comments here, your son and my daughter have lots of company!


  31. nice innocent post. gives a smile across my lips early in the morning. 🙂


    • I’m really happy you liked it!


  32. it is too funnny dear.


    • Thanks you!


  33. จองตั๋วเครื่องบิน
    Yes
    I subscribed! Great collection of drawings and thoughts. Thanks.


    • I hope you continue to enjoy!


  34. Fun story about your daughter holding binoculars backwards. Both of my daughters did the same thing — it was fun to watch them experiment with the binoculars… with some bonking results, though. Fun cartoon sketch about the trinoculars!


    • Sounds like this is much more common than I thought. I’m not sure if that’s a good thing. 🙂


  35. Really that is so cute, I hope my kids(when I have some) pull some tricks like that 🙂


    • Hopefully without injury. 🙂


  36. These are the stories that make me love kids


    • Kids really do some strange things… but then again, I guess adults do even stranger things!


  37. Nice blog and good post friend..
    Keep blogging.. 🙂
    Waiting for your next post…

    Visit my blog too and give your comment on my articles…
    🙂


  38. What a great cartoon, and treasure-trove of a blog. I’ll keep checking back here whenever I need a laugh! Thanks for publishing some good clean fun.


    • Thanks for the kind words! I wouldn’t post anything I wouldn’t want my own kids to see. 🙂


  39. […] all you want, it just doesn’t fit. I came across this blog post the other day that made me laugh. It’s true. When we tell something to our children, they […]


  40. The fact that she turns them around is very encouraging! her curiosity plus brightness is a great combination.. she does things her way!


    • She certainly does!


  41. Perhaps she thinks she can see more in the “big” end than the “little” one. More is better, no? And your 3rd lens would be great for people with less than standard-size heads (or eyes).

    Thanks for the laugh…I’ll bill you for the coffee stains on my shirt.


    • Ha ha ha! I think a spit-take is the biggest compliment I could get!


  42. great style of writing !! :).The Leaves Fall i am new to wrodpress check out my blog too


    • Thanks!!
      .


  43. Funny and nice post.
    Thanks for the share.

    Vanimator
    http://www.vanimator.com


    • Thanks!!!


  44. ทัวร์เกาหลี ทัวร์ยุโรป ทัวร์ปักกิ่ง

    Thank you 🙂


  45. Ha ha ha!! I love it!


  46. Hello! Aw, this was a really nice post. In thought I would like to put in writing like this moreover – taking time and actual effort to make an excellent article… but what can I say… I procrastinate alot and by no means appear to get something completed


  47. Hi there,
    Post it notes are great for drawing on.
    Have you seen/heard of the guy who draws monsters on post it notes?
    Here y’are:
    http://alancook.wordpress.com/2010/12/04/monsters-on-post-it-notes/


    • Thanks for sharing the link, those drawings are amazing! I went to his website and looked at more of them. He must be using a reeeaaaaalllllly fine tipped pen.



Leave a Reply

