h1

Bail was denied because he was a flight risk.

September 9, 2011

When I was about 13 my parents bought me a pair of parakeets.  They were completely untrained, and as such were never allowed out of their cage for fear they might never return.  After a month, I (in my infinite teenage wisdom) decided that they were ready to fly free in the living room.  I envisioned them happily flitting about the high points ceiling, exploring the potted plants, or even perching on my hopeful shoulder.  I opened the cage door expecting them to excitedly fly free.

They didn’t.

They simply sat and stared at me.  I then decided they needed some encouragement made noises, waved my hands, shook the cage, and generally terrorized them into a state of near panic.  I finally grabbed one of the birds and forced him to accept the opportunity I was offering.  I pulled him out and opened my hand.

At this point, things started happening very fast.

My bird, pausing only to give a surprisingly painful bite, took off at full speed across the room.  He flew straight as an arrow.

At full speed.

Into a wall.

The only good news from the whole incident was that the parakeet was so completely stunned by the hit that I was able to scoop him up and get him back into his cage without getting bit a second time.

Even if I deserved it.

One comment

  1. Im genuinely impressed along with your writing skills and also using the layout on your blog. Is this a paid theme or did you customize it yourself? Either way keep up the excellent quality writing, it is rare to see a great weblog like this one nowadays..



Leave a Reply

