h1

Teddy pears are cute.

November 4, 2011

Every child has their favorite stuffed friend.  For me, it was “Tom Bear.”  Tom was a simple brown teddy bear.  We had countless adventures over many years.  But, as always happens, I eventually grew up.  Tom Bear was put away with the other toys.  As the years passed the toys were given away… all except Tom Bear.  I could never bring myself to get rid of him.  I thought about it many times, but could never actually do it.

Fast forward many, many years and I have children of my own.  When she was three, our oldest asked me if I had a doll.  I told her that I had actually had a bear.  I told about the things we had done and how much I had loved good ol’ Tom Bear.  When she asked what happened to him, I found him in a closet and introduced them.

Two years later and they are still best buddies.  I guess there was a reason for hanging on to him for so long…

 

7 comments

  1. Aw, I just stumbled upon your blog right now. I love teddy bears and this is just the best.


    • Thank you! I’m glad you enjoyed the post.


  2. There is something about those teddies.
    I have one and my husband has one. We never let the kids play with them, though, as they were quite rough on their toys and would likely have returned our bears in the form of piles of stuffing.


    • Tom Bear has had some rough play in the past couple years, but my wife has done an excellent job patching and stitching where needed! 🙂


  3. OH MY GOD! I have a bear just like that! (I am a teenager so I have kind of outgrow it but I still like to take it out of the closet every once in a while and play with it.)


    • Ha ha. You never REALLY outgrow teddy bears…



Leave a Reply

