h1

Sometimes even simple tasks can be frustrating.

April 26, 2012

You may have noticed that the posts haven’t been as regular as normal.  This is due to difficulties with my wife’s pregnancy.  With each of her pregnancies she has suffered from increasingly severe hyperemesis gravidarum (extreme and persistent nausea/vomiting).  While my poor wife has been confined to her bed, I have been a full-time Daddy AND Mommy. The statement in the cartoon above sums up how everyone in our house has felt at one time or another during this ordeal. After four weeks in and out of the hospital for IV fluids and repeated attempts to find a combination of meds that can help control the symptoms – things are finally getting better.

With some luck, one day soon she will only be somewhat miserable.

14 comments

  1. So…pregnancy is a simple task, you say? 🙂


    • Apparently, sometimes, it is TOO simple…


  2. I loved your post. I had six babies and none of them were easy. I will kep your family in my prayers. Keep your chin up. Thanks


    • Thank you for the kind words! Things are already much better than they were, and in the end it will be worth all the hardship.


  3. Good luck with the pregnancy. Maybe you could swap lives with your wife for a day, to give her a break.
    Marti


    • If I could have relieved her for even a few hours I would have jumped at the chance.


  4. Congrats to you both! I hope she continues to feel better! Sounds miserable.


    • Thank you – things are getting better. She has times in the day where she i almost herself. Thank goodness for modern meds!


  5. That’s awesome dude!


    • Thanks!


      • My neighbor just had her baby too. Her name is Mira.


        • That’s a nice name. We haven’t had ours yet, my wife is only in the second trimester…


  6. oh now I have to read on to find out if she’s ok. I hope so! Love your illustrations, been scrolling through but am going to find the time to read them all properly 🙂


    • She is. 🙂

      Thanks for the kind words!



Leave a Reply

