h1

Elephants never forget (or forgive).

January 16, 2013

elephants never forgetWhen I was 2 or 3 years old, my parents took my older brother and I to a renaissance fair.  It is actually one of my earliest memories.  There was a log rolling contest that my brother won, but I don’t remember.  There was jousting and sword play by knights in full armor, but I don’t remember that either.

What I do remember is riding on the back of an elephant.  I remember it very clearly.  If you have ever been on a horse, you are familiar with the up and down bouncing motion that riders experience.  The elephant was entirely different.  I remember it involved something more like swaying left and right of center as it moved.

It was exciting.

It was a unique.

It was absolutely terrifying.

Thinking about it now, I realize that many of my earliest memories are things that either shocked or frightened me (being attacked by a goose, choking on a hotdog, crashing my tricycle while being chased by a gorilla, etc…).  Somehow, the more powerful emotions helped the experiences seat more firmly in my long-term memory.

I know that I had a wonderful early childhood filled with special, one-of-a-kind moments… I just can’t seem to actually recall them.

4 comments

  1. chased by a gorilla?:) wow! you really had an interesting childhood:) All the best!
    Ala


    • Full disclosure – it turned out to be someone in a gorilla costume, but at the time I thought it was a real one – maybe not quite as interesting as all that, eh? 🙂


  2. Can’t wait to see the film of your life! Sounds awesome fun 🙂



Leave a Reply

