h1

Circles are definitely not the sharpest shapes.

January 23, 2013

circles not the sharpest shape

Recently I’ve not been feeling too sharp myself…

I have never signed my little drawings or put the website address on them.  I really liked the simple look that just a sketch and caption have.  As a few of my drawings have become kinda-sorta popular online I have seen them surface on lots of social media sites (Twitter, Facebook, Pinterest, Reddit, etc…) multiple times.  It’s neat to see them spread far and wide.  The last time my English Muffin cartoon was posted on reddit.com (last week) it had been viewed over 250,000 times in just a few hours.  Pretty cool…

What’s not cool is finding people taking credit for them.  Or even worse selling products decorated with my little drawings.  Over the past few weeks I have found hats, shirts, stickers, mugs, phone cases, and many other products with one of the many cartoons I’ve drawn.

Booooooooooo!

I guess I should have known better.  Putting unsigned content online means that it can be posted and reposted from site to site and the original source can be lost if not cited each time.  Like I said, I’m not feeling so sharp.  So… rather than focus on the problem, I’m going straight to solution!

I have started signing my drawings so that I can retain some amount of ownership as they move out through the world wide web.  I’m feeling smarter already!

…actually, I guess I’ll feel smarter tomorrow since I forgot to sign this drawing…

D’oh.

10 comments

  1. Sorry to hear that!! 😦 But fingers crossed the signing will do it!

    Just a thought… Might be worth including something in the metadata when you upload the pics to wordpress (i.e. description field etc)? That way the information should stay with the pic if someone copies it from here… i think…!


    • Thanks for the tip. I have never filled in the fields on the metadata – I’ll start doing so and see what happens. 🙂


      • good luck! 🙂


  2. If someone is willing to poach your ideas (and commercialize them), you might consider opening your own storefront on someplace like Zazzle.com or CafePress.com. Zazzle looks interesting, since all of its features remain free regardless of how much or how little you use their services (CafePress’s premium features require that you pay a fee).

    Anyway, just a suggestion. Everyone has different philosophies about making money from their creative efforts. 🙂


    • This is another good idea. I don’t know much about online storefronts, but you’ve given me some ideas. Thanks!


  3. Hiya,

    I’ve loved your doodles ever since I discovered your site last year. I like the CafePress idea above, but how about adding a Creative Commons (http://creativecommons.org) licence to your site as well? It’s easy to set one up and best of all it’s free. I’ve placed it on my blog as well as adding it to specific downloadable freebies which I publish every month.

    Obviously it won’t stop people from copying, but at least you could go after them with a copyright claim should something go viral like Psy.

    Your work deserves protecting.

    Marti


    • This is something I really should have done. It looks easy to do and would fit nicely in the sidebar like on your blog. I will definitely add this ASAP!


  4. This blog is pretty addictive. You could publish a little book full of just these little drawings and captions.


    • Thanks! I actually made a book, but only a few copies for family. 🙂



Leave a Reply

