h1

Few things can ruin a tough guy image like training wheels.

February 16, 2015

tough guy training wheels

Everyone knows that younger siblings emulate their older ones.  It’s an important part of child development and growth.  Small children learn by watching and then doing.

I know this.

I understand this.

The only problem is that our youngest (2 years old) is a boy and the older ones are both girls.  The result of this is that my son’s favorite hat in pink.  He enjoys dancing.  He loves sparkles.  His favorite dress-up clothes are actually just dresses.

He is only 2 years old.  He has no real gender identity yet.  He is simply imitating his beloved older sisters.

I know this.

I understand this.

I’ll just keep repeating these phrases to myself.  I’ll repeat them loud enough that I can’t hear him asking to have his nails repainted…

11 comments

  1. Why do you enclosure your daughter at the girly society box? Did they play football? play business even war games? Do they like puzzle? Show to daughters and to son other child games, those you played. I remember at younger age playing puzzle games with my father. And I also remember when he arrive from work brought me time to time little play cars. Yes, you guess, I Iove cars.
    I am also the younger child. and I don’t have brothers, only sister and she is very girl but love politics, don’t know why. : /
    Let them be who they are, but show them all who they can be, and get rid of society box.

    wishing peace and happy days for you and for your family.


  2. Fear not. 🙂

    I’m glad you left this comment.
    My daughters play with dinosaurs and blocks and cars. The older (8) helps me change the oil in the car and the younger (4) can explain the basics of replacing a starter. They have their own tool belts and use them for projects around the house.
    Likewise, my son does wear his pink hat in public and dances in his sisters tutus. Of course, I want my children to be happy – not cardboard cutouts of society expectations.

    The story I wrote in this post is true, but the phrasing is used for comedic effect. 🙂

    Still, the nail polish is a bit much…


  3. Does his gender indentity really matter? I mean, he’s still your son.

    But I do realize that little kids tend to act the way their older siblings do. A female friend of mine says things like, “I need to take a piss,” swears a lot (like me, and I have a sister), and likes to rough-house. She also enjoys skirts and glittery unicorns.

    I’m kind of gender fluid, and I hang out with mostly girls, my biological gender.

    Am I rambling? Sorry! I love your work! Keep it up!


  4. At first, I read the post and smiled. Then I thought, is this mildly stereotyping? and then I asked- ‘where’s my sense of humour gone to?’. Lovely little post, it is.

    Even on serious level, I think your reaction is right. Parents don’t need to be unquestioningly understanding. We develop certain sensibilities growing up and kids will always challenge them, somehow. The key isn’t in feeling unchallenged, it’s in how you react when you are. So your son adores a Pink hat, that’s absurd to you. But what did you do? You eased through it. Perfect!


  5. Reblogged this on omarsameh and commented:
    اوريد ممكن


  6. Reblogged this on suburbanbad59.


  7. Thanks


  8. 🙂 funny and cute


  9. really enjoying your posts. x


  10. Brilliant.


  11. Be thankful that your child hasn’t yet been put in his gender box. The day will come, and it will be a part of the horribly painful processes that all young boys go through, the system that results in teenage boys committing suicide at 4x the rate of girls, the system that psychologist are finding are actually destroying our son’s ability to feel emotion to full capacity. At two years old, seeing your son in a dress sends a small thrill of panic through you because you’re still fighting the idea that everything female is bad. You know it is intellectually wrong, but the emotional response comes from the fact that you don’t truly believe it. Which isn’t necessarily a bad thing. No human is able to overcome all of their social training. But trust me when I say you will one day yearn for the days when all you were afraid of was your son painting his fingernail, and not the broken fingers he gets from punching holes in the wall.



Leave a Reply

