h1

Cheddar should be sharp enough to cut back.

July 22, 2013

sharp cheddar

For the past few years I have been suffering from eczema on my hands.  After eliminating chemical and environmental sources, I have been looking at the possibility of a food allergy.  Our seven-month-old has had some issues with milk sensitivities and we thought perhaps I was experiencing a similar issue.

I visited the doctor in early summer and had some blood testing done.  As we waited for the results we have discussed how much more challenging it would be to avoid other common elements like corn, eggs, gluten, wheat, yeast, etc (or even worse a combination of more than one).  As my wife is still breastfeeding, we have seen how difficult it is to eliminate just one staple like milk from the diet.  Because we eat mostly food that is prepared from scratch, the idea of avoiding several ingredients seemed quite daunting.

As it turns out I am allergic to all of these and more.  It seems that I am at least “sensitive” to everything from the everyday ingredients listed above to more unusual foods like asparagus, lobster, and litchi fruit.  In fact, the only items that I remember having absolutely no sensitivities to were cheddar cheese, horseradish, and grapefruit.

While I will admit that each is tasty in their own way, I can’t think of many tasty recipes that combine all three…

15 comments

  1. Oh you have my sympathy!! I am a vegetarian who is intolerant to dairy, soya, and gluten. It is hard to get your head around at first but if you’re used to cooking for yourself then you’ve got a good head start as thats the only way to do it! Hope you find your peculiar recipe soon 🙂


    • Thanks! We have tried cutting some of the major culprits, but it doesn’t seem to be having any effect at this point. We’ll see.


  2. Reblogged this on martheenos.


  3. Being allergic to things is the worst. I’m not actually allergic or lactose intolerant but taking milk products brings on bronchitis. I find though instead of going cold turkey, I prefer to keep an eye on my intake, I know my limits and this way I build up a tolerance for it. So every once in a while I can eat something which is normally on my forbidden list, like milkshakes!


    • Hopefully, eating carefully will work for me too. I’d hate to cut out everything on the list.


  4. You are my inspiration! Just started reading your blog and i love it! Plus i had eczema once as a teenager and it was horrible 😦 i wasn’t able to eat egg and chicken. I feel you!


    • Thanks for the kind words! I never knew I had a problem with any foods until the blood test. We’ll see if things get better…


  5. Have you tried Organic Shea butter? I’ve heard (read) it works but can’t testify to its results other than moisturizing effects. If you live in the US/Canada, New Directions Aromatics sources it from Burkina Faso. I know it’s better to treat internally but at times, an immediate result (topical) just helps to reduce the stress and encourages me to dig deeper. 😀 Hope it helps.

    Great sketches, btw!


    • I have not tried Shea butter. I will look into it – thanks for the idea.


  6. i would be upset if i was allergic to those foods. But cheddar is a tasty on it’s own.


    • Being told you shouldn’t eat a particular food makes you want it even more… 😦


  7. indeedy. take away stress and then the allergies are not as bad.



Leave a Reply

