h1

Don’t use punch bowls for bowl cuts.

January 16, 2012

When I was young, my haircuts always alternated from bowl cuts to buzz cuts depending on the season.  This wasn’t because either were particularly stylish, it was simply because my Dad cut the hair in our house.

His tools were simple: one electric clippers, one neck duster, and an ancient pair of thinning shears.

The shears were a relic from the 30’s (last sharpened pre-WWII), the electric clippers were actually intended for dog grooming, and the neck duster had stiffened with age to the point that it felt less like bristles and more like a wire paint stripper.

Ah, the memories.

Not exactly fond memories, but memories nevertheless.

4 comments

  1. My teacher used to cut her son’s hair via this tried and trusted method.
    Marti


    • Yes, it’s been inflicted on children from time immemorial.


  2. Haha! So funny, today I gave my first-ever haircut! I watched a couple of YouTube clips on how to cut hair and then used the clippers on my son. His hair actually turned out pretty good – especially considering I only used a number 4 – and he moved and wriggled and moaned the entire time! (Which is why I didn’t bother with the number 3, 2 and 1 to do the blending!)


    • The one time my Dad couldn’t cut my hair, my Mom did it. I was okay with it until I turned around and saw her reading a little pamphlet of instructions. It didn’t instill much confidence.



Leave a comment