h1

Penguins don’t do casual Fridays.

February 23, 2013

penguins dont do casual

Two nights ago while brushing our teeth, I was asking our daughter Emma what sounds different animals make.  We started with the easy pet types (cats, dogs, and birds) before moving on to barnyard livestock (cows, roosters, pigs, horses).  Like every other two-year-old in the world, she was a pro at mimicking each of these creatures.

It wasn’t until we came to some of the more exotic members of the wild kingdom that things started to get interesting.

          Me: What does an elephant sound like?

          Emma: Achoooooooo!

          Me: Achoooooooo?

          Emma: Yeah.  Their big noses…  achoooooooo!

          Me: Okay.  How about a Penguin?

         Emma: /high-pitched, squeaky voice/ Penguin, penguin, penguin.

         Me: That’s what they say?

          Emma: Baby penguins.  Mama penguins say – PENGUIN, PENGUIN, PENGUIN!

          Me: Wow.  Well, what noise do monkeys make?

          Emma: I like pink bananas!

She delivered each of these answers with no hesitation and complete confidence.  At the moment, we’re not sure if she’s a little bit brilliant or just completely batty.

Either way, she’s awfully entertaining.

13 comments

  1. A little of column A, little of column B.. most 2-year-olds regularly dance along that line of brilliance and insanity 😉


    • This is very true. In some ways, adults who are considered geniuses seem to dance along that same line.


  2. Brilliant! I always thought it was funny asking my very little brother “What noise does a lizard make?”. He’d never make any noise, but just flicked his tounge out very fast. 🙂


    • Funny!
      On a side note, do lizards make noise?


  3. Never understood why we spend so much energy on making sure our children can accurately mimick animal sounds. Far more valuable I think, is allowing them to imagine what they would want the animals to sound like!


    • It’s definitely more interesting that way. 🙂


  4. Haha!! The doodle is really cute I also like a lot of your other ones too they make me smile 🙂 and a lot of them are really funny some I don’t get but that’s ok I got most of them and they made my day. 🙂


    • Thanks for the kind words and I’m glad you are enjoying them!


  5. I love kids. I wish adults were more like kids!


    • I couldn’t agree more. Adults tend to be quite boring. Kids are always exciting. 🙂


    • Hooray! You fixed your blog! 🙂


  6. […] Inkjot Comics – Who wouldn’t want to see amusing comics on post-it notes? Makes me smile! […]


  7. Aww..this definately put a smile on my face,like all your other illustrations!



Leave a comment